Sophomore Art Parade, part 1/2

Let begin the uploading of my favorite sophomore works of art! These pieces I really want to upload here quickly to show everyone, and then I can get back to posting my new works!

To start things off, here’s Family Men, my “celebrity with a pet” portrait. I chose to elongate Sandler’s head, as we all know he himself likes to poke fun at his “egg shaped head”. For me, it was a no brainer to pair him with a labrador retriever! Labs are wonderful family pets; kind, sweet, loving, funny, snuggly, loyal friends in a doggie body. Sandler himself comes off as a family man, caring about his family and loving to them.

Why is the lab white, you ask?

The lab is white for two reasons: to reflect the purity of heart both the loving family dog and the family man have, and due to the fact that this portrait does have a partner to accompany it!

The partner piece to my Sandler portrait, Interconnected is about the absolutely pure, spiritual connection between Sri Anandamayi Ma and the peacock. The peacock’s job is to take all of the negative things out of the world. For doing this great duty for the world, the peacock’s feathers are turned brilliant colors! Anadamayi was a beautifully spiritual figure in India, and during her life brought light to this world ❤

I hate, with all the fibers of my being, HATE fur farming.

This piece, Stewards of the Earth, came about after I read an article on fur farming in Finland, and the disgusting conditions of many of them. Being a Christian country, they inspired me to take the Christian idea of being a “steward of the earth” and taking care of God’s creations. Those people that torture these animals, skin them alive, bludgeon them to death, stick electric rods up the anus of an animal and electrocute it to death…they’re not taking care of God’s creation. I don’t care what your religious background is. Each of the major world religions mentions taking care of the lord’s creations, not torturing them to death. Fur farming is disgusting and a shame to humanity. Those people are not human, they are monsters for what they do to those animals.

I’m very well aware that not all fur farming practices are like the ones I’ve read about, but I am still very against any and all practices like this, commercial farming included. There’s better ways to feed

Reply

