Fish of the Setting Sun

This mural took an entire semester to complete, but my mural, lovingly titled Fish of the Setting Sun, was well worth it!

The first three months of the project consisted of:

-Thumbnail sketches (MANY of them)
-Learning to interact with a client on a more professional level
-Learning how to find and price materials and make a “project cost estimation sheet”

This project was a massive one, meant for at least three people to work on. As luck would have it, no one else jumped on board to work on this, so I ended up working on it solo. If it weren’t for the assistance of my professor, and my recruiting a fellow student towards the end of the project to assist me in putting down layers of paint, I wouldn’t have been able to finish this work in a month! Yes, this massive painting was finished within a month. I spent many, many hours in this elevator working on the mural!

I used oil paint for the sky to achieve the soft, comfy feeling of it, and for the waves I used acrylic paint. The contrast between the sky and the water is stunning to me, and I’m so happy that I was able to achieve that look!

(This image is version 1 of the mural. Better images are on the way!)

2 comments
  1. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    • Aw, thank you so much! That means a lot to me! Thank you 🙂

Reply

